The Unique Legend 2 — The Ancient Night Vol. 1 (Chapter 12 Part 1)

PLEASE DO NOT REPOST OR RE-UPLOAD OUR WORK ELSEWHERE. IF YOU ARE NOT READING THIS ON CAFESEASIDE.COM IT MEANS THAT YOU ARE NOT READING IT ON THE ORIGINAL PLATFORM.
Please support the staff by reading it on the original platform. Thank you.

Chapter 12: The Buried Item (Part 1)

The squirrel in fireball rollerblades jumped onto the safe as it looked at us while swaying the flames on its body.

I examined the safe. Although it should only have a little more dust on it’s top as it just was dug out from the mountain wall, after going through traps and explosions, and other being blasted by unknown objects, the looks of this safe could be described as it had just been “dug out from the mud” with unknown black fluid and mud covering around its top. The credit all goes to the Tripping Prince for dragging this safe out.

“Clean it.” While burning away the gloves he removed from his hand, the Tripping Prince presumably ordered me.

“Huh?” I looked at him, stunned.

The Tripping Prince gave up talking to me as he raised his chin, gesturing to me to clean up the safe.

“He’s my lackey. Why should he listen to you?!” The Five-Coloured Rooster jumped out to object, “Yang~ Don’t clean it!”

The Tripping Prince lightly frowned and squinted his eyes at the Five-Coloured Rooster with a all high and mighty expression, “You’re from a lowly assassination family, you have no right to talk back to me.”

“Hah. I talk whenever I like. What’s that got to do with you?” Wrapping his hands around, the Five-Coloured Rooster provoked the Tripping Prince in return, “Don’t the Black Robes need to take survival skills tests? Yet you even need someone to help you pitch a tent. A person like you in the wild is only just waiting to die starving or drenched in the rain. Wow! That’s utterly useless!”

“…” The Tripping Prince started to glare at the Five-Coloured Rooster.

“I- I will clean it. Stop fighting, I beg of you.” I’m not confident in stopping their fight at this rate, especially when the Tripping Prince, who was already despising me, is amongst them as he might also settle me off to exterminate all future troubles.

I picked up Minas and fired a shot at the safe. A large bubble cleansed away the lump of mud instantly, leaving not even the smallest mud-stain and the safe sparkling clean.

The squirrel on fire rollerblades let out a sound of protest as it was nearly splashed by the water and then it followed up my pants to climb onto my shoulders. Surprisingly, it wasn’t hot at all. Despite it looking like it was burning, the flames didn’t burn me at all.

“Yang~ You mustn’t submit yourself to power!” The Five-Coloured Rooster who always made me give in told me in displease.

“I just wanted to quickly tidy this and return to Asrian. Brother Shikin and the Mountain Goblins are still there. It’s better to join them back sooner.” After I finished, the Tripping Prince snorted and turned his head away without any disagreements as I mentioned Asrian, “Also, I’m hungry after running around through the night.”

The Five-Coloured Rooster revealed a wide smile and then placed his hand on my shoulder, “You’re my lackey indeed. Hurry up and wrap up so we can head back for food!”

“Alright, alright…”’ I squatted down to look at the safe. It really was an ordinary safe with an old-style lock. It probably was buried here for a few years since I remembered most safe these days have changed to digital locks. The last time when I went home, mum ended up forgetting her passcode to her safe and had to ask Mingyue’s friend to break it open. It was only after her friend left that I learnt that the person was from the Intel Division.

So the job scope of the Intel Division also includes breaking locks!

“There’s no code. Should we bring this whole safe back…” Before I finished, the Five-Coloured Rooster who was standing next to me directly smashed the top of the safe with his beast claws. Following which, the so-called safe that is fully resistant to fire outbreaks and earthquakes twisted and broke open in front of me, just like a watermelon splitting.

I looked at the Five-Coloured Rooster who had smashed the safe and then turned to look at the smashed safe quietly. I was speechless.

Anticipating them to use peaceful methods to open the safe was my mistake.

There were two small boxes in the smashed safe – one was a delicate rectangular box carved from a crystal and the other was a tiny paper box. I retrieved both boxes. When moving the delicate box, it gave me a sense of pressure that even someone with weak senses like me could notice. After opening the box, it was a silver-colour circular silver piece that was the size of a palm with a small stone inside. There was nothing, but only a few words on the stone.

The Tripping Prince reached out his hands to take away the crystal box and silver piece.

“You don’t want this?” I looked at that small stone. Although I didn’t feel much power from it, it felt warm and rather comfortable holding in my hand.

“No need.” The Tripping Prince dropped two words and turned his head to walk away, without even bothering us.

After completing its task, the squirrel in fire rollerblades let out a few sounds and disappeared on my shoulder.

“That stone was probably used for rituals.” The Five-Coloured Rooster came and rested his hand on my shoulder, “Many races habitually picked up some ritual stones to keep.”

“Oh.” Because the stone’s texture was pretty good, I placed it in my pocket. Anyway, the Tripping Prince didn’t want it so I probably could even use it as a heat pack.

Thirty minutes had passed by the time the Five-Coloured Rooster and I returned to the campfire where the Mountain Goblins were at. Because the squirrel in fire rollerblades wasn’t here to show the way this time, I walked at a slower pace. The Five-Coloured Rooster dashed ahead without even knowing his directions and made me follow him headlessly, so we ended up spending more time coming back than going there.

The Lewd Horse who was just taking advantage of Asrian had stood up and patrolled nearby. Asrian was holding onto something that should be the silver piece that the Tripping Prince had thrown to him and was examining it at the side of the campfire, while the bunch of curious Mountain Goblins watched from the side.

You guys were really slow~” The Lewd Horse’s voice channelled into my brain, “The royal prince had already returned for a while and headed towards the Foreseers’ camp over there, without waiting for us.

Completely unaware that the Lewd Horse was communicating with me through my brain, Asrian returned the silver piece on his hand to the crystal and then turned to look at us, “This appears to be an ore that carries some broken evil power. Brillin is the production site of broken evil power ores. Many races like to extract these ores with natural power from the Earth Goblins, but Brillin has disappeared for more than a century and there aren’t any productions today. This silver piece must have been brought out by someone a long time ago.”

“There probably wasn’t such a safe a century ago, right?” I looked at the safe that was thrown aside after the Five-Coloured Rooster had brought it back. This item looked like a recent manufactured item regardless, with a blurred company print on its top so I’m certain it’s a recent product.

“I think someone hid this item in the mountain recently. The Mountain Goblins also told me that the Ghost races only appeared recently since there weren’t any Ghost races around before this.” Asrian shrugged his shoulders, “It’s nothing but a broken evil ore. I don’t understand why the Ghost races are looking for it. It’s also easily found in the Guild and there are even better quality ones out there, including within our Academy. It’s not difficult to obtain one. Whereas the box that contained the silver piece is merely a normal handicraft. There’s no need to go through so much to obtain it.”

“Could it be about those weird carvings at the top that we can’t recognise?” The Ghost Race has always been acting in an incomprehensible way. This was firmly ascertained by my experience with Andlier.

“It’s a possibility. I plan to send this to the Intel Division and let them handle it.” Asrian said and asked the Five-Coloured Rooster for the safe. Together with the silver piece and the crystal box, he delivered the safe to them.

After cleaning up everything, it was almost dawn.

“Let’s head back.”


T/N: I have finally bought Season 3 Volume 6 raw and now I heard news that Volume 7 is gonna be out this month. Author is speeding through the last season!!!

Thank you for supporting the novel and this translations. If you like the work so far, I’d appreciate if you can rate the novel and leave a review on NovelUpdates~ Also, do join us on our discord server.


Previous | Index | Next

Leave a comment