The Unique Legend 2 — The Ancient Night Vol. 1 (Chapter 13 Part 2)

Please support the staff by reading it on the original platform (cafeseaside.com). Thank you.

Chapter 13: Dream Linkage (Part 2)

After I woke up in shock, I firmly bumped into a ball of soft fur before I could figure out where I was.

The deer that was being suddenly attacked on its stomach leaped backwards, then looked at me, startled before escaping into the forest…

Huh? Deer?

Looking left and right, I noticed that while I was dead asleep, animals of all sizes came to sleep with me for some reason. Those that stuck next to meet got awakened by my movements before shoving themselves back and shutting their eyes.

The sky was already turning grey. I shifted my hand that a squirrel was couching on. The squirrel dropped onto the grass and let out a sound of objection.

It was already five o’clock in the afternoon and yet no one had come to wake me up.

A one-horned rabbit was lying on my stomach. Should I even move…

Who on earth taught them that they could casually come over and sleep when there’s a human lying on the ground? If this was in our world back home, these animals would have probably been caught and turned into dinner.

“Are you awake?”

The voice that came from beside startled me. I cautiously turned my head and saw the Tripping Prince nearby for some reason.

This time, I was really in shock. I quickly got up. Some of the smaller animals and also bugs rolled down from my body. Not long after, the animals that were sleeping had all dispersed. Some of them were just strolling around while some went to play in the pond.

Except for the Five-Coloured Rooster, the Lewd Horse and Asrian, I had never expected this person to come to wake me up… Maybe he wasn’t here to wake me up, but he happened to pass by.

Completely ignoring me, the Tripping Prince took out a small silver bottle and squatted down to fill the bottle with some water.  The squirrel that dropped onto the ground fearlessly leaped onto the Tripping Prince’s shoulder and began washing its face.

That squirrel is really brave.

In a daze, I watched the Tripping Prince grab the squirrel and place it on the ground before standing up. I subconsciously took a few steps back, “Uhm, did you come to tell me to head over to the Mountain Goblins?” I never expected there were times he’d be so nice. Indeed, one cannot judge a book by its cover.

“No.” He only took one second to burst my bubble, “They’ve all gone to the land that belonged to the lowly Race.” He added.

“Eh? They’ve all gone there?” I was stunned. I didn’t think the Five-Coloured Rooster would ditch me and not even bother to wake me up. So much for wanting to be my big boss all the time.

“Asrian wants me to bring you along.” The Tripping Prince told me calmly.

“Eh?” So you guys left me this guy! But I looked over to the Tripping Prince who didn’t have any movements. After exchanging glances with him for a few seconds, I decided to take matters into my own hands, “Then, are we going over now?”

“Did I say that I want to go to those lowly Race’s place?” The Tripping Prince sneered at me and said.

“Didn’t Asrian tell you to bring me over?” I was dumb-founded.

“Is a prince obliged to listen to others?”

W-what a fine answer. This means that he’s the big boss and doesn’t acknowledge what has happened, so Asrian’s request naturally doesn’t hold. I looked at the Tripping Prince who was standing on the same spot. It was my fault to say that he was being nice on a rare occasion. Why could I have the hope that he would bring me over? I must be too naive…

Watching the sky gradually darken, I think it’d be too late to go over now. But this made me feel relieved because honestly, I didn’t really want to participate in the Mountain Goblin’s feast.

I was disturbed by both Senior’s words and that weird Mountain Goblin’s.

Since it was said, I think it’s better for me to not turn up. I always found such feasts uncomfortable and never really liked them. Most people in the Academy, except for Miaomiao and the rest, still harbour animosity towards me, so I also didn’t join additional activities… I could say that going out with Yado and the rest is enough to keep me busy – that occupied most of my time, leaving little need for me to interact with those people who harboured evil thoughts.

But to think that I would have to face these matters one day… it’s just that I have yet to reach that age.

After deciding to give up going to the Mountain Goblin’s feasts, I sat back down. Seeing that the Tripping Prince didn’t plan to exterminate me or whatever, and that it would be quite awkward to head back to the Foreseer’s base, it was better to rest over here for now.

After sitting down for not too long, the small animal from nearby came over again.

I took out my notebook, which had recorded the spells taught by Anin, Senior Gasai, Yado and the rest, from my daypack. Whenever I’m bored and don’t have a computer to play on, I would always practise memorising these so that I wouldn’t make a mistake when I’m nervous.

It suddenly brightened up next to me. I turned over and saw the Tripping Prince putting a few beads on the ground, which lit up the gloomy pond under the setting sun.

“…Thank you.” Although I was unsure if he placed them because I was reading a book, but I still thanked him politely.

Unsurprisingly, the Tripping Prince snorted and turned his head away. Then he sat down on a big stone that was some distance away from me and took out something.

I took a peek and he was holding a small knife, and carving a water crystal.

…A small knife?

Uh… Maybe the Goblins are more casual in the tools they use. When I went to Yado’s temple the last time, I’ve also seen Leido using a carving knife to carve an apple into a sawtooth shape. The apple was instantly smashed onto the ground by the Five-Coloured Rooster.

It’s not that I wanted to talk about it, but it’s been so long already yet Leido was still so determined to cut the Five-Coloured Rooster’s hair. I guess their brotherhood wasn’t very useful.

The Five-Colour Rooster’s hair has become more colourful recently… Seems like his hairstylist’s skills had gotten better. I still wondered if he would take up the challenge to dye each strand of his hair a different colour one day.

Unknowingly, the animals crowding next to me have increased. I turned over to see that the Tripping Prince’s situation wasn’t any better over there. The fearless squirrel from earlier had even grabbed onto his wrist that was holding the knife, its shadow had affected his carving. But the Tripping Prince didn’t have any special reaction nor did he grab and throw the squirrel away, and instead quietly continued his detailed works on the water crystal.

“Uh, Goblins all seem to enjoy art, right?” Looking at him as he carved, I couldn’t help but to break the silence.

The Tripping Prince stopped his movements and glanced at me.

“Leido and the rest often do art during their free time. The temple they live in is really beautiful. Every stone is pretty and the carvings are very fine. Yado had said that each stone in the temple is carved according to a legend, although I’m not very sure…”

“The fifteen stories regarding the origins of the World.”

I was startled for a moment. Looking at the Tripping Prince who interrupted me, I didn’t think that he would be interested in this conversation topic.

Not noticing my shocked expression, the Tripping Prince let the squirrel remain on his hand and lowered his head to continue carving on his water crystal, “The Sealed World had around fifteen stories on its origins after it was unified, of which, those from the Chio Goblin and Alanski were similar. After the World had hibernated, the Gods descended to awaken life. They woke up at dawn and then life began to flourish across the vast land. Something like that. The World changed too quickly, and only fifteen legends were recorded. There used to be more in the past, but some were lost as it passes down to each generation.”

“I-it’s really different from ours over there. Have you heard of the story ‘Pangu Separating Heaven’?” I said excitedly. The Tripping Prince didn’t tell me to shut up nor did he indicate any objections so I carried on, “It’s a very old legend from the East which also talks about the creation of the world…”

“I know that.” The Tripping Prince cut my words.

“Uh, then what about Genesis?”

“I’ve heard that.”

“Noah’s Ark?” Wait, this isn’t a story about the creation of the world.

The Tripping Prince fell into silence

“You’ve never heard about Noah’s Ark?” I confirmed it again.

“I’ve heard a little.” The Tripping Prince glared at me, as if he would jump up and stab the small knife into my head if I continued to ask blindly.

And so, I spent five minutes briefly telling him the story on Noah’s Ark.

That’s odd. If he even knew about Genesis, why would he not have heard of Noah’s Ark which was very famous? Could it be that he sweeps away things he has no interest in?

After listening to me sharing the story of Noah’s Ark, the Tripping Prince remained silent for a while before finally looking me in the eyes, “So the Devil Master actually knows about other things.”

Hey, do you really think that the Devil Masters spend their time only cursing people?!

“Of course I know about other things!” Such as not making you trip over, but crashing into a tree or an electricity pole!

“Oh? Tell me more.”

Casually throwing these words at me, the Tripping Prince lowered his head again to carve his water crystal.

This time I was dumbfounded.

So he meant to tell me to tell him about other stories?

Is he an annoying brat who appears troublesome on the outside, but is actually shy internally and secretly enjoys listening to bed stories?

“Then Adam and Eve…”

“I’ve heard that.”

“Uh, Nuwa Mending the Sky…”

“I’ve heard that.”

“Dayu’s Flood Control!”

“Why do you only know about those I’ve already heard!”

Beggars can’t be choosers!


t/n: oops sorry for disappearing for too long! life caught up and this totally slipped my mind ;-; (thanks minji for poking me to update)

Thank you for supporting the novel and this translations. If you like the work so far, I’d appreciate if you can rate the novel and leave a review on NovelUpdates~ Also, do join us on our discord server.


Previous | Index | Next

Leave a comment